Picture
Picture
Today began in the new town of Rauma.  We met our new host families and prepared for our day's programs.  We first toured the Aijansuo Hockey Arena where Rauma's professional hockey team, Rauman Lukko plays.  We viewed all the private boxes that were individually decorated.  One of the boxes included a sauna, which parties can enjoy while watching the game-NICE!!  Later we received a guided tour of Old Town Rauma by Johanna Suokanto.  We visited old homes and churches where the architecture was unique.   We walked around all the historic streets and had ice cream in the square.  We ended our tour at The City Hall, where Johanna spoke briefly on the key points of Rauma over coffee and snacks. After lunch everyone went home to settle in with their new host families.  I went straight to the Physiotherapy Center downtown Rauma, where Rotarian Jukka Karenius's son Toni and wife Anna own and manage.  I was given a tour of the facilities and introduced to all the staff.  I even participated in Anna's Zumba class-where I discovered that I have 2 left feet ;).  Since chiropractic and physiotherapy are quite similar fields of practice, Jukka felt it was better that I stayed with them so we could discuss more on our work.  I was very grateful to Toni and Anna for opening their home to me and allowing me to tour their facility. :) R

Picture



Leave a Reply.

    Picture

    Archives

    June 2010
    May 2010
    April 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed